Skip to content

Microsoft

Recent events

Recent events tied to this brand in public sources.

Back to profile973 entries · Page 4 of 49

  1. 2026

    Microsoft releases Execution Containers tool to prevent unauthorized AI agent data access

    Microsoft said it was releasing Microsoft Execution Containers, a tool to prevent AI agents from accessing data and performing unauthorized tasks when running on a laptop or desktop machine, and said Anthropic, OpenAI and Nvidia will use the tools.

  2. 2026

    Microsoft issues 30-day end-of-support countdown reminder for Windows 11 23H2 Enterprise and Education editions

    On October 9, 2026, Microsoft issued a 30-day countdown end-of-support reminder for Windows 11 23H2 Enterprise, Education, and IoT Enterprise editions, which will stop receiving support in November 2026. Microsoft stated that after support ends, devices on these versions will no longer receive monthly security updates including the latest threat protection, and recommended eligible devices upgrade to Windows 11 26H2, which was released in September 2026 as an enablement package and will be supported for consumers until October 2029.

  3. 2026

    Microsoft officially launches Microsoft Execution Containers (MXC) on Windows 11

    Microsoft announced that Microsoft Execution Containers (MXC) is officially available on Windows 11. MXC uses Windows containerization, identity authentication and management capabilities to control AI agent behavior boundaries, letting developers declare agent-accessible file paths, network targets, process parameters, UI and containerization levels via a unified JSON configuration and multi-language SDK, with policy separated from execution and mapped to native system controls across Windows, Windows 365, macOS and Linux. OpenAI Codex, GitHub Copilot, OpenClaw and NVIDIA OpenShell are the first to support MXC, and Claude Code, Manus and Perplexity plan to integrate; Microsoft is also developing Intune and Entra integration.

  4. 2026

    Senate report criticizes data-center operators’ grid-cost positions

    A report by Democratic U.S. senators said companies accepted paying for infrastructure dedicated to their data-center sites but opposed requirements to cover the full cost of wider grid improvements tied to their facilities. The article does not specify which companies took each position.

  5. 2026

    Microsoft announces Microsoft-Decision-1 AI decision model

    Microsoft announced Microsoft-Decision-1, a new AI "decision model" designed to choose something quickly and efficiently, such as figuring out which AI model to use or what is in an image being analyzed by AI. Microsoft claims the new technology beat out other models in tests of speed and accuracy. The announcement came days after OpenAI highlighted its new Decisions API.

  6. 2026

    Microsoft launches Decision-1 decision model

    Microsoft launched Microsoft-Decision-1 on Microsoft Foundry as a non-generative model for classification, option judgment and scoring. The model was also listed on the OpenRouter platform.

  7. 2026

    Microsoft launches Microsoft-Decision-1 decision model built on Alibaba's Qwen3.5-9B

    Microsoft launched Microsoft-Decision-1, a decision model designed for routing, classification, prioritization, validation and workflow control, built on Alibaba Cloud's Qwen3.5-9B model and offered through Microsoft Foundry with a release on the OpenRouter platform coming soon. Microsoft claims it is 2.8x faster than TypeSafe AI's Jev in latency tests, leads 36 benchmarks with 83.5% accuracy, and costs more than 20x less than OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol on text-classification tasks, priced at $0.042 per million input tokens with free output tokens. Microsoft said it does not disclose why it chose Qwen3.5-9B but plans to rebuild the model's foundation on its own and OpenAI models.

  8. 2026

    Microsoft to let Microsoft 365 Family and Premium subscribers share AI benefits, with OneDrive storage moving to a shared 2TB pool

    Microsoft announced in an email to Microsoft 365 Family and Premium subscribers that it will let subscribers share Copilot and AI usage features, alongside access to Office apps and OneDrive storage, with up to five other people on a plan, shifting individual AI feature limits to a single AI usage allowance. It also outlined that the cloud storage allowance will change from 1TB per person to 2TB of shared storage, a change that will apply after the first renewal following May 2, 2027.

  9. 2026

    NVIDIA launches new RTX Spark chip for Windows laptops

    NVIDIA introduced its new RTX Spark chip for Windows laptops, which carries both general-purpose and AI computing tasks. The RTX Spark platform is positioned for AI developers and creators rather than consumers, and Windows PC makers including Dell and HP have also launched devices equipped with the new chip. NVIDIA CEO Jensen Huang and Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella appeared on stage together to promote the new PC chip.

  10. 2026

    NVIDIA unveils RTX Spark computing platform at Windows and Surface event

    At the Windows and Surface special event held in the early morning of 8 October 2026, NVIDIA unveiled RTX Spark, a new ARM-architecture SoC integrating a Grace CPU and Blackwell GPU with up to 128GB unified memory and up to 1 PFLOP of FP4 AI compute, created as a computing platform for Microsoft's 'personal AI' vision, with MediaTek collaborating on the CPU design. At the same event NVIDIA also showed the RTX Spark Dev Box developer console starting at USD 5,999 and the DGX Station for Windows desktop supercomputer with 20x the AI compute of RTX Spark.

  11. 2026

    Surface Laptop Ultra listed on Microsoft China store with prices from 21,988 yuan

    On October 8, 2026, Microsoft's China online store listed the Surface Laptop Ultra in Bright Platinum and Midnight color options, with China prices starting at 21,988 yuan and the 128GB unified-memory top configuration priced at 48,388 yuan.

  12. 2026

    Microsoft begins testing redesigned Windows Search for Windows 11

    Microsoft has put a significantly redesigned Windows Search into testing with Windows Insiders. Built on WinUI 3, the new experience is faster with inline previews for files and answers, better typo and synonym matching, and launcher-style actions including phone tasks via Phone Link, with a rollout to Windows 11 expected in the coming months.

  13. 2026

    Microsoft announces Surface Laptop Ultra pricing from $2,599 and opens orders

    On October 8, 2026, at its Surface new-product event, Microsoft announced pricing for the Surface Laptop Ultra laptop starting at $2,599 and opened orders the same day. The laptop is built around a new NVIDIA RTX Spark processor (6144 CUDA cores, TSMC 3nm), can be configured with up to 128GB unified memory and 1TB SSD, and features what Microsoft describes as the world's first built-in magnetic USB-C port.

  14. 2026

    Trump administration suspends Microsoft, Adobe and six IT services firms from PERM green card sponsorship

    On Oct. 8, 2026, the Trump administration announced it suspended Microsoft, Adobe and six IT services firms from the Labor Department's PERM program, which lets employers sponsor foreign workers for green cards. The administration barred the firms over claims they favor foreign workers. Data cited in the report shows Microsoft received more than 6,000 H-1B approvals last year, with about two-thirds going to people already working at the company, while larger H-1B sponsors Amazon and Meta were not suspended.

  15. 2026

    Microsoft prices Surface RTX Spark Dev Box at $5,999 and opens pre-orders

    At the same October 8, 2026 Surface new-product event, Microsoft announced that the Surface RTX Spark Dev Box development machine is priced at $5,999 (about 40,265 yuan at current exchange rates) and began accepting pre-orders the same day.

  16. 2026

    Microsoft to retire Microsoft 365 Targeted Release channel, replaced by Frontier/Standard/Deferred unified release preferences

    Microsoft announced (as reported by Neowin on October 8, 2026) that it will discontinue the Microsoft 365 Targeted Release update channel in January 2027, replacing it with three unified release preference channels: Frontier, Standard, and Deferred. From November 2026, users will no longer be able to register for Targeted Release, and unified release preferences will become the only available option; Microsoft recommended that IT admins migrate users currently on Targeted Release via the Microsoft 365 admin center.

  17. 2026

    Microsoft launches Surface Laptop Ultra flagship laptop with NVIDIA RTX Spark chip

    At a launch event in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled the Surface Laptop Ultra, a flagship laptop built on NVIDIA's new RTX Spark chip, starting at $2,599 — about $400 below the entry-level 16-inch MacBook Pro — with shipping to begin soon. Microsoft claims its local AI model response speed is twice that of the MacBook Pro M5 and video generation six times faster, cutting directly into Apple's core market with the lower starting price. NVIDIA CEO Jensen Huang and Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella appeared on stage together at the event.

  18. 2026

    Microsoft announces Surface Laptop Ultra and Surface RTX Spark Dev Box

    Microsoft announced two new Surface devices, the Surface Laptop Ultra laptop and the Surface RTX Spark Dev Box compact desktop, aimed at creators, developers, and AI builders and developed with NVIDIA around the RTX Spark platform for AI workloads. Commercial configurations of the Surface Laptop Ultra are available for pre-order at USD 2,599 MSRP with availability from October 16 through Microsoft.com and select retailers worldwide, while the Surface RTX Spark Dev Box is priced at USD 5,999 MSRP, is available exclusively through Microsoft.com in the U.S., and begins shipping in November. Microsoft is also offering up to USD 1,000 cash back when trading in an eligible MacBook Pro.

  19. 2026

    Microsoft announces GitHub Copilot hybrid inference with cloud and local model switching

    Microsoft announced on October 8, 2026 that GitHub Copilot will support local AI model inference by the end of the month, letting developers automatically or manually switch between cloud-hosted and on-device models. Preferences can be set in GitHub Copilot CLI, the Copilot app, and Visual Studio Code, and local models can be selected via Windows ML (MAI Code 1.1 Flash) or OpenAI-compatible local endpoints.

  20. 2026

    Vice President JD Vance accuses Microsoft of replacing laid-off workers with foreign hires

    At the Oct. 8, 2026 press conference announcing the PERM suspensions, Vice President JD Vance accused Microsoft of replacing the 6,000 workers it laid off in 2025 with people on H-1B work visas. The report notes the allegation is unproven: USCIS data shows two-thirds of Microsoft's more than 6,000 H-1B approvals last year went to people already working at the company.