Skip to content

OpenAI

Recent events

Recent events tied to this brand in public sources.

Back to profile199 entries · Page 10 of 10

  1. 2026

    OpenAI launches GPT-5.6-Cyber cybersecurity AI model

    OpenAI launched GPT-5.6-Cyber, a cybersecurity-focused AI model fine-tuned from the flagship GPT-5.6 Sol, aimed at vulnerability research, penetration testing and incident response. It is not available to general users and is provided only to vetted enterprises and security vendors through the Daybreak program. The model achieves a 95% completion rate on high-risk tasks, up from 57.3% for GPT-5.5-Cyber, and discovered unknown vulnerabilities in the Chrome V8 engine and a mobile operating system. The Daybreak program has two tracks, Blue for defensive teams and Red for authorized researchers, with initial partners including Accenture, IBM and Palo Alto Networks. Hardware security keys will be mandatory from September.

  2. 2026

    Student activists occupy OpenAI's Washington office in nationwide protest

    More than 30 student activists occupied the lobby of OpenAI's Washington, DC, lobbying office as part of a nationwide campaign involving more than 20 states. Police arrested 13 demonstrators for unlawful entry after about two hours. Organizers criticized Big Tech's political influence and AI regulation.

  3. 2026

    OpenAI to launch ChatGPT Business Premium seats

    OpenAI is set to launch Premium seats for ChatGPT Business, offering the most active team members 5 times the usage of Standard seats and removing the 5-hour usage cap. Premium seats are priced at $125 per user per month, or $100 per user per month with annual billing, while Standard seats remain $25 per user per month or $20 per user per month annually. During a limited-time offer, the first 10,000 eligible ChatGPT Business customers to sign up receive $100 in workspace credits (2,500 credits) per Premium seat added, capped at $500 for 5 seats, and some customers can get early access before general availability.

  4. 2026

    OpenAI launches GPT 5.6 Cyber model for security partners

    OpenAI developed a new model called GPT 5.6 Cyber for vulnerability research, penetration testing and incident response, available only to selected companies and security vendors through the Daybreak Cyber Partner program.

  5. 2026

    OpenAI expands Daybreak cyber defense service with Blue and Red tiers and GPT-5.6 Cyber model

    OpenAI announced an expansion of Daybreak, its cyber defense service, introducing two tiers: Blue and Red. The Red tier includes access to a new cyber-focused model, GPT-5.6 Cyber, built off GPT-5.6 Sol, available only to trusted customer partners reportedly including Accenture, IBM, CrowdStrike, and Cloudflare.

  6. 2026

    OpenAI completes acquisition of NextSlide

    NextSlide founder Ahmed Beshry said the acquisition by OpenAI had actually taken place earlier in the year. The financial terms were not disclosed.

  7. 2026

    OpenAI expands Daybreak cyber defense service with Blue and Red tiers

    OpenAI announced an expansion of its Daybreak cyber defense service, which will now consist of two tiers, Blue and Red, both granting approved customers access to OpenAI's restricted frontier cybersecurity models. The Red tier includes a new model, GPT-5.6-Cyber, available only to Red users, built on GPT-5.6 Sol with enhanced capabilities for specialized cybersecurity tasks.

  8. 2026

    OpenAI launches GPT-5.6-Cyber and expands Daybreak into Blue and Red tiers

    OpenAI announced on August 10 that its Daybreak cybersecurity service will expand into Blue and Red tiers, both giving approved customers access to OpenAI's limited frontier security models. The Red tier adds the new GPT-5.6-Cyber model, built on GPT-5.6 Sol and restricted to the Red tier, with access initially limited to trusted customer partners reportedly including Accenture, IBM, CrowdStrike and Cloudflare.

  9. 2026

    OpenAI announces acquisition of NextSlide

    OpenAI announced that it acquired presentation startup NextSlide. The financial terms were not disclosed.

  10. 2026

    ChatGPT Free and Go tiers upgrade to GPT-5.6 Luna with unlimited text chats

    OpenAI said ChatGPT Free and Go users would get GPT-5.6 Luna as the new default model and unlimited text-based chats starting August 7, removing the previous text-chat rate limits. The rollout was expected to reach all eligible users within the coming week; limits would remain for file uploads, images, voice chats, and image generation.

  11. 2026

    ChatGPT updates GPT-5.6 Sol

    OpenAI announced a refreshed GPT-5.6 Sol experience tuned for everyday ChatGPT conversations. The update adds more focused answers and adaptive detail; Plus and Pro users can use Sol for Instant and deep reasoning and control reasoning effort with a slider.

  12. 2026

    OpenAI restricts development of Astra

    OpenAI restricted parts of the development of its unreleased Astra model after preliminary evaluations raised concerns that its cybersecurity capabilities could approach the company’s “Critical” risk threshold. The company is limiting development to highly controlled and isolated environments and introducing additional safeguards.

  13. 2026

    White House introduces voluntary AI model testing framework for leading AI firms

    In early August 2026, the White House convened leading AI companies including OpenAI, Anthropic and Google to introduce a new AI large-model regulatory testing framework that encourages AI labs to voluntarily submit their most advanced new models for government testing before public release. As of August 20, the framework text had not been publicly released and most companies still lacked details.

  14. 2021

    GitHub and OpenAI release Copilot

    GitHub and OpenAI released Copilot, an AI coding assistant that provides code suggestions to software developers.

  15. 2021

    OpenAI announces $100 million startup fund

    OpenAI announced a $100 million fund to invest in AI startups, in partnership with Microsoft.

  16. 2021

    OpenAI releases CLIP image-recognition system

    OpenAI also released CLIP, an image-recognition system described as more general-purpose than systems designed for individual tasks.

  17. 2021

    OpenAI introduces DALL-E and CLIP

    OpenAI introduced two multimodal AI models: DALL-E generates images from text, while CLIP matches images with text categories.

  18. 2020

    Microsoft announces exclusive collaboration with OpenAI

    Microsoft announced an exclusive collaboration with OpenAI and said the collaboration had produced a supercomputer for training large-scale AI models on Azure.

  19. 2020

    OpenAI debuts Jukebox music-generation model

    OpenAI debuted Jukebox, a generative model able to make music. The article's correction clarifies that the model generates music, not lyrics.